It’s a Beautiful Day…

…and it was yesterday, too. Shawn and I went to Babies ‘R Us and bought Zack a jogging stroller. We then went to O’Charley’s and had a reasonably healthy lunch, then drove down toward where my grandparents live for a visit. (They’re about an hour and a half drive from where we live). We stopped at a state park on the way to take the new stroller for a spin. The day was gorgeous, about 66 degrees and just soooo nice after being cooped up inside all winter. We walked a mile, then turned around for the return mile. Since the trail was relatively hilly, I’m really feeling it in my calves and thighs today. We bought a treadmill a few weeks ago but, what with all the illness here, I’ve only been doing 20 minutes at a time on a 0 incline off and on. I’m looking forward to being able to start challenging myself again. Now if only we can all stay healthy!

Speaking of staying healthy, I re-joined Weight Watchers Online on Friday. I have GOT to make a concerted effort at getting this baby weight off, and that’s the program that’s given me the most success in the past. So far, so good. I’ve finally started losing weight again over the past couple of weeks (thanks to the treadmill), so I’m ready to make that weight loss go even more quickly by tracking my food intake.

My mom kept the baby last night, so Shawn and I stopped at Fazoli’s to get whole wheat penne pasta with veggies and (for me) shrimp. We ate and watched a couple episodes of Charmed, then watched 3 or 4 more episodes this morning after healthy breakfasts. I did 30 minutes on the treadmill and now we’re getting ready so we can go see a movie. We used to go all the time, but not so much since the baby was born. I’ve been wanting to see Music and Lyrics, so that’s what we’re going to see. After that, we’re planning to pick up Zackary, then Shawn’s going to spend time with him and do laundry while I run to Panera for writing time. I have even factored in a 20-oz Dr. Pepper and chocolate chip cookie for dinner while I’m writing. I can’t wait!

It’s amazing how wonderful you feel when you make time for being healthy AND writing. Right now, I feel magnificent! (Other than the achy thighs and calves. Hee.)

Comments are closed.