T-Minus 13 Days and Counting!…

All right, folks, in honor of the fact that my debut urban fantasy, Red Hot Fury, releases from Penguin/Ace Books in less than two (2!) weeks, I am finally dusting off two fabulous books written by my very awesome writing buddy, Jill Myles, and giving these away in a celebratory contest.  I have two copies each of the first two books in Jill’s Succubus Diaries series, Gentlemen Prefer Succubi and Succubi Like It Hot.  Jill and I have been online friends for years, once both of us finally got serious about writing for publication, and we’ve been alternatively cheering each other on and whining on each other’s shoulders ever since.  While Jill’s paranormals are more on the comedic side whereas mine are darker, I absolutely love her writing and want to share the love!

This contest is open to paranormal and urban fantasy lovers (or those open to learning to love the genre) everywhere (yes, everywhere!) and two winners shall be randomly selected from commenters to this post.  I will ship each winner a copy of both books at my cost along with some book pimpage for Red Hot Fury (hey, that’s a small price to pay for free books!).  The rules are simple:  Just comment to this blog post telling me what paranormal or urban fantasy books you’re most looking forward to this summer, and why.  (And while I’d love you to PICK ME, PICK ME! doing so won’t increase your odds of winning.  😉 )

I’ll get us started.  I think the UF/paranormal I’m most looking forward to this summer is Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty Goes to War, although I am admittedly a book or two behind on this series right now.  Okay, I can say that about a lot of my favorite series–but at least I have the excuse of being preoccupied with my own debut to contend with.  Right?  Right??  Ahem, while I am drooling over many UFs and paranormals right now, Kitty is hands down one of my favorite UF heroines and I just love reading about her navigating through the perils of her mundane and not-so-mundane lives.

So, what about you?

ETA:  Feel free to list more than one!  =)

Oh, guess a deadline would be helpful!  I will accept all comments as entries until midnight Central Time (US) on Saturday, June 19th.

29 responses to “T-Minus 13 Days and Counting!…

    • It absolutely counts, and feel free to list several! I just narrowed mine down to one or that would have turned into one really long post! 😉

  1. We can only do one??? Damn. Well, I’m looking forward, of course, to Red Hot Fury, but I’m also looking forward to Geist, by Philippa Ballantine. Steampunk! Which is still UF, I think?

  2. Congrats
    I tried this before and it gave me an error. So if it posts twice, I’m sorry. I’m actually looking forward to yours 😉 not trying to get extra points. I’m also looking forward to Night Myst by Yasmine Galenorn, The lastest Jane True novel by Nicole Peeler, and the latest Chicogoland Vampire Novel by Chloe Neill. Good luck in your releases celebrations!

    • Re: Congrats
      It worked! Hahaha, no brownie points awarded then. 😉 I really want to try Nicole’s Jane True books, and I am LOVING Chloe Neill’s Chicagoland Vamp books so far.

  3. Hmmm. Well, like Kaitnolan I am really stoked for Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel. I was excited for The Demon in Me by Michelle Rowen, but that was released in Spring.
    Huh, being that my list of must reads for the summer is seemingly short, I will in fact add your book to my list.

    • Oh, I love Michelle! And The Demon in Me is on my list, too! I’m in the middle of her Demon Princess books right now.
      And now I must look at Clockwork Angel since it’s getting multiple recommendations. =)

  4. Seriously, choosing only one is REALLY hard! The first that comes to mind is Jealousy by Lili St. Crow, mind you there are sooo many more I can think of too!

    • Feel free to list more! I’ve read a couple of St. Crow’s Dante Valentine books, but must admit they weren’t my very favorites. I may have to try out her Lili St. Crow books to see if they’re more my speed!

      • Ok…*cracks knuckles*…some of these don’t come out until late in the summer or after summer but I’m waiting (very impatiently) for:
        ALPHA by Rachel Vincent
        Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong
        Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
        Dreamfever by Karen Marie Moning
        Unraveled and The Darkest Lie by Gena Showalter
        Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes (yes, I know this is out, but I’m waiting for mine to come in the mail)
        There are still more, but I’m gonna stop rambling now! 😉

  5. What I’m most looking forward to this summer is….
    I am looking forward to Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices Series),Lara Adrian’s Taken By Midnight (Midnight Breed Series), Rachel Caine’s Ghost Town (Morganville Vampire Series), and Richelle Mead’s Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy Series). Granted the last three are due out more in the Fall/Winter time I just figured I would mention them anyways….^_^.

    • Re: What I’m most looking forward to this summer is….
      I forgot to tell you why….lol. The last three books I mentioned I am totatly in love with their series. There stories sucked me in and i just can’t get enough of them. The first book I mention I want to read because I love her Mortal Instruments Series so I figure this book will probably be just as great as them.
      skyla11377(At)AOL(Dot)Com

  6. Not sure I can pick one… I’ve got about 25 this summer I want, including yours. 😀
    I think I’m gonna go with Rachel Caine’s Total Eclipse, the LAST 😦 book of her Weather Warden series which comes out 8/3. Rachel Caine is absolutely hands down my FAVORITE author ever, so yeah, that’s why I’d choose that one. 😀

  7. Paranormal or UF read this summer
    I, too, am looking forward to Cassandra Clare’s “Clockwork Angel” although I really want to read “City of Fallen Angels” which comes out after that. The Infernal Devices series sound good but I can’t wait for her to get back to the Mortal Instruments series.
    I’m also looking forward to Rachel Caine’s “Total Eclipse”.

    • Re: Paranormal or UF read this summer
      Oops, forgot my email: cories119 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  8. Heather (Darkly Reading) books I’m excited about
    I’m looking forward to the new Jane True book by Nicole Peeler, Larissa Ione’s Sin Undone, Chloe Neill’s Twice Bitten, Bring on the Night by Jeri Smith-Ready – so many good books coming out 😀
    please enter me in your contest (darklyreading (at) gmail (dot) com)

  9. Talk about Timely!
    So I actually just added Red Hot Furry to my to-buy list today!
    Others that are coming out this summer that I want to read:
    Kitty Goes to War, Bitten, Night Myst, My Way to Hell, Twice Bitten, Unchained, Red Hood’s Revenge, The Grimm Legacy – and a bunch of others… 😀

  10. contest
    I’m looking forward to Gena Showalter’s Darkest Lie. I read a lot of paranormal romance books and I do like fantasy also.This is my first introduction to your books. I look forward to reading some 🙂 Thanks for the contest.
    Tanyah1224@yahoo.com

    • Re: contest
      I’m actually in the middle of Gena’s Playing With Fire right now. I’ve only read a couple of her books but I really love her stuff.

  11. A month ago I would have said Sarah Rees Brennan’s THE DEMON’S COVENANT, but it came already, and it was awesome. 😀 I’m now eagerly awaiting Richelle Mead’s LAST SACRIFICE.

  12. Well, let me see…*puts on reading glasses* Im new to this blog, so I certainly can’t say that I even know what your book’s about. Blurb anywhere? However, I’m certainly looking forward to Linger by Maggie Stiefvater. Her writing is not simply romance, it’s the kind of writing that brings out an awesome world around the characters. And her style is brilliant. I’m looking forward to the hunger games final. I’m really wondering how it’ll finish. The end of the second book was an absolute shocker. I’m also really looking forward to Passing Strange by Daniel Waters. These books are beyond they’re generation. While everyone’s writing about vampires and fairies, he’s gotten really out there and written about zombies. At timesit seems tongue-in-cheek, but he pulls it off quite well. ALSO, The next book in Kait Nolan’s Mirus series. She’s self-published by choice. Her first story in the series was awesome but a bit short, so I’m over here just drooling for
    more. The main characters were written really well. I find that’s probably the most
    important thing.
    There ya go! I’m friending you now. I’m relatively new to Lj, and Im also in the process of writing a novelly kinda thing. It helps to see how other people have gone through the process.

  13. Books I’m looking forward to this summer
    I’m actually most looking forward to a new author K.A. Stewart. I really think she’s going to be great author, and A Devil in the Details looks great.

  14. Just a slackeriffic update to let you guys know (if you’re watching still) that I contacted the winners to let them know. Thanks!!!