Marathon Weekend, Take Four…

Okay, so I fell far short of my goal yesterday and “only” got in around 4-5k instead of the ambitious 8k I was aiming for. Still, not too shabby at all! I’ve settled in at my desk again and the plan is to write like a crazy writing thing until I can’t take it anymore! (Yeah, yeah, so it’s the same plan as yesterday. Hopefully I’ll get a little more done this time!)

I’ve gotten about 500 words so far this morning; here’s hoping for many more!

Smoke and Mirrors Current Count:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
33,415 / 50,000
(66.8%)


He regards me with such pity that he doesn’t even have to say I’m right. His expression speaks all too clearly. My knees buckle and I collapse to the floor in a boneless heap. Dear God, this changes everything. If one of those things is wandering around the mortal realm, slaughtering at will and–I can hardly bear to even think it–consuming the flesh of its victims, one thing is perfectly clear. My mission to re-capture Sadiq must take a back seat to stopping the Ghul. Everything else can be sorted out later, but that must be done immediately, whatever the cost to myself.

Sadiq bends down and runs a hand through my hair. I close my eyes and revel in the caress, mind whirling in a dozen different directions as I try to decide on my next step. It doesn’t take long to face the obvious. I am so out of my league when it comes to the mere thought of confronting the Ghul–look how abysmally I’ve done with Sadiq, and he’s not half so fearsome. Oh, hell. I’m going to have to align myself with him. And pray like mad he doesn’t betray me again. Unless… For a moment, the wild thought of enlisting the help of my new best friend flicks into my mind, but I quickly shoot that one down. How can I drag an innocent mortal, one who doesn’t even know of our existence, into this nightmare? No, best to just keep her in her current role as my Anchor, safe and sound and completely out of danger.

No, trusting Sadiq it is. And damned if my traitorous heart doesn’t pick up speed at that insanity.

4 responses to “Marathon Weekend, Take Four…

  1. Aw, I want Subtle Fire back! That was such a great original (to me) title, whereas Smoke and Mirrors has already been done 😦 (By Tanya Huff, FYI.)
    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    • Hmm, maybe I’ll go back…LOL. I am so fickle sometimes! What I probably will end up doing is asking my agent which she prefers and go with that.
      Thank you!

    • Hmm, maybe I’ll go back…LOL. I am so fickle sometimes! What I probably will end up doing is asking my agent which she prefers and go with that.
      Thank you!

  2. Aw, I want Subtle Fire back! That was such a great original (to me) title, whereas Smoke and Mirrors has already been done 😦 (By Tanya Huff, FYI.)
    Have a lovely day! 🙂