Marathon Weekend, Take Three…

Since my mother was loverly enough to get my son today, and husband had to work for a few hours, he dropped me off at Panera where I proceeded to participate in a bunch of word wars on FM Chat and got just over 3,000 words in. Hooray! I’m back home now, warring even more, and have scored another 600ish or so words. Have ordered my favorite (stupidly expensive) pizza and am waiting for it to arrive. Planning to keep up the word wars for several more hours, until I can’t take it any more!

In exciting news, my wonderful friend helped me brainstorm a much better title for Subtle Fire, which was always just a placeholder for me until I figured out something better. Her suggestion was something I had considered for another WIP, but it just suits this one so perfectly that I am officially using it for this one. Hooray! No, Jill, you won’t be getting 1% of my royalties, alas, but I WILL acknowledge you in the book. 😉

A preliminary Amazon and Google check seems to indicate that while there are many books with that title, I don’t see any recent YAs with it. Besides, as long as it’s nice and catchy for purposes of selling it, that’s all that matters, since the publisher holds final naming rights anywho. So, without further ado, here’s the shiny new title, which fits in for several world-building as well as thematic reasons…

Smoke and Mirrors Current Count:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
32,301 / 50,000
(64.6%)

Now…back to the marathon!

8 responses to “Marathon Weekend, Take Three…

    • LOL…I hesitate to admit this, but I’ve yet to read Neil Gaiman. I was reading his blog for awhile, and I know he’s a god in the genre, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Still mean to, though!
      That said, unless the one with that title is a YA, I’m not going to feel too bad or like people are going to draw comparisons between us. Since I’d come up way short! 😉

    • LOL…I hesitate to admit this, but I’ve yet to read Neil Gaiman. I was reading his blog for awhile, and I know he’s a god in the genre, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Still mean to, though!
      That said, unless the one with that title is a YA, I’m not going to feel too bad or like people are going to draw comparisons between us. Since I’d come up way short! 😉