Edits, Edits, Edits…

So I have my trusty, snazzy revisions folder all set up, complete with expandable pocket to hold the hard-copy manuscript, notebook for writing notes and new scenes, and assorted colored pens, highlighters, and post-it notes ready to go. I started making notes on ideas for implementing Ginger’s revision suggestions, and also started my first read-through of the ms since I set it aside almost three months ago. Happily, I do not hate it or think it sucks. I see room for improvement, of course, but I’m glad I don’t hate it after spending so much time working on it before! =)

I am up to page 60 of 272 and have made little prose tweaks as I’ve gone along. More importantly, however, I am using three different colored highlighters to mark up spots where I plan to address the following. 1. Blue highlighter: Places to add more scene-setting. I.E. Places where I need to either describe the physical location of the scene more fully, or use some other technique to ground readers in the scene. 2. Green highlighter: Places to expand on my world-building. Ginger specifically commented on a couple of things she wanted to know about my Furies. 3. Orange highlighter: Places for greater character development. While Ginger called Marissa, the first person narrator of Red Hot Fury, a “vivid, interesting lead,” (Hooray!), she thinks that the other characters need beefing up, especially Scott, Marissa’s once-and-again lover.

Once I finish the read-through and mark-up, I intend to actually insert the lines and scenes necessary to address all of Ginger’s comments, plus the handful of items I wanted to take care of based on my own thoughts and those of beta readers who read RHF after I signed with Ginger. I also plan to re-work the ending slightly, and go back and insert more scenes involving the villain and villain light of this manuscript. At that point I will likely do one final read-through, trying to be as critical as possible, and then give it to a couple/few critters, including my husband. And then, hopefully, it’s back to Ginger so she can make any additional comments or suggestions.

And once it’s as polished as we can get it at this point, hopefully we will start the whole submission process. Not to mention further waiting and angsting. But this time of the good variety! =)

And that is my boring editing process. Or at least the process I am using this go-round. 😉

2 responses to “Edits, Edits, Edits…

  1. Sounds like a good process. Scene-setting is something I always need to watch out for in revision because I tend to not do enough in the first place 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s working pretty well for me! =) I think I used to do TOO MUCH scene-setting, so with the past couple of books I may have swung too far to the other extreme and not done enough. =) Part of that stems from the fact that I’m all about getting right into the action and keeping things moving at a good pace (with some slowing down scenes, of course), but I can totally see where my agent is coming from in that with some of the action scenes I’m not letting people get grounded enough before letting it rip.
      So hopefully I will hit the right mix with this round of revisions. *grin*