Evil Convenience Shop Selling Books…

On the one hand, I was THRILLED when the new owner of the convenience store in the lobby of our downtown office building took over, because he actually keeps a VERY well-stocked section of books and magazines, something the old owner had stopped doing years ago. On the other hand, it’s really evil because I end up having “accidents” when I stop by to buy something nice and cheap like a bag of white cheddar popcorn (YUM) and somehow end up buying an 8-9 dollar book as well. When that happens twice in one week, it can add up…

Today’s “accident” was Marjorie M. Liu’s The Last Twilight. I absolutely ADORE Marjorie M. Liu’s writing, but have to confess that so far I’ve only read The Red Heart of Jade and her short story in the anthology with Christine Feehan. LOVED them both, but I keep forgetting to add her to my book lists whenever my mother-in-law (the wonderfully generous head librarian of her town in Maine) asks what books I want. And the rest of the time I try to keep my book purchasing to a bare minimum. Oh yeah, and the library of my current town sucks as far as certain genres go. I REALLY need to see about getting a library card for the St. Louis Public Library again since I work downtown. (Speaking of which, I REALLY need to add Rachel Caine’s YA vampire books to my list…and several other books I want need.)

And wow, that was a whole lot of rambling about nothing writing-related, huh? I’ll try and update on the writing front later…

Comments are closed.