Obligatory New Year’s Post…

So this year saw me achieving a major career goal–finished my Master’s degree and obtained a legal assistant position at my law firm–although I haven’t seen much forward motion in the writing career. No agent, no book deals, and damned if I haven’t failed to finish any new WIPs either. Er, oops. I could give a litany of reasons for this, but I won’t. On the plus side, I HAVE polished up two older projects and submitted them to various agents, and have written more than 50k words in the current manuscript, as well as done world-building and plotting for several other projects along with writing first pages/chapters in a few.

My major goals for 2008 are:

1. Eat healthier and exercise more.

I have already started taking steps toward accomplishing this. I do NOT have time to use my gym membership at work anymore–sigh–and the treadmill at home doesn’t work for me right now. Too much foot pain in especially my left foot. So husband and I bought a recumbent bike last week and should be getting it on Friday or Saturday. I am starting a 6-month doctor-supervised diet and exercise program this week, in preparation for taking another step later on, if necessary.

2. More butt in chair time, writing-wise.

I’ve also taken steps toward accomplishing this goal lately, and am having fairly good success so far. The trick is to just keep it up, and get to the point where I at least TRY to write every day. During those busier periods of life when I can’t write as much as I would prefer, I need to make a conscious effort to not let more than a few days at a time go by without writing at least something.

3. Continue submitting projects to agents and/or publishers.

Just need to keep going with this. I’m in a sort of lull right now, until I finish the current project, but I am still sending older projects out off and on as I find other, appropriate places to submit to.

4. Keep spending as much quality time with husband and baby as possible.

Again, just need to keep going on this.

5. Strive to do better as a legal assistant.

This is only natural. I’m new to the field–in fact, the branch of law I’m working in, I wasn’t exposed to at ALL in my studies, and it’s a very niche sort of thing. So it’s a matter of continuing to learn, and working as hard as I can.

6. After completing Red Hot Fury (adult UF), finish at LEAST one YA UF (preferably Faerie Fever), and at LEAST one adult project, probably another UF since I want to have a good mix of them to offer if when I obtain an agent.

This is MORE than doable as long as I keep up the BIC time. =)

Dream goals would be:

1. Actually obtain an agent.

2. Sell at least one project, preferably more.

3. Win the lottery and become filthy rich. (Hee. Kidding. Mostly.)

So, um, now to dive back into Red Hot Fury so I can get a great start on some of those 2008 goals. I have a great feeling about this year, writing and publishing wise. 8 is my all-time favorite number. I have a touch of OCD (heh, tho it seems a bit worse lately in some matters), and the number 8 just really soothes the savage beast inside. So this will be MAH YEAR!!! (Or something.)

4 responses to “Obligatory New Year’s Post…

  1. My mom saw a psychic on one of those talk shows the other day who said that a year ending in 8 was supposed to be a lucky year becuase only 8 and 0 are continouse (sp?) numbers, meaning that you can write them over and over agian without lifting your pen. So maybe it’ll be good for all of us 😀

  2. My mom saw a psychic on one of those talk shows the other day who said that a year ending in 8 was supposed to be a lucky year becuase only 8 and 0 are continouse (sp?) numbers, meaning that you can write them over and over agian without lifting your pen. So maybe it’ll be good for all of us 😀