Writing Rocks…

*happy sigh* Why, oh why do we let the cat vacuuming, etc. start? So hard to get back into the swing of things when you do! Ah well, I guess it’s just called life, and sometimes it’s hard to find that balance. And it’s so easy to tell when things are going well with the writing. Like, oh, I actually start posting a lot more often!!!

Speaking of which, I am doing some brainstorming on the faerie project for purposes of trying out this little writing program that I found by way of this post on Justine Larbalestier’s blog. Since I can’t use the Scrivener program mentioned on that post due to the fact I don’t have a Mac OS, I moseyed on over to Scrivener’s website and found a link they had to Page Four. I’ve messed around with free demos of a few other writing programs, and never found anything I ever thought was worth the cost to buy the full version, but I am fairly excited about this one. Especially the Smart Edit feature which allows you to find your “crutches,” i.e. the words you tend to overuse as a writer. I’ll let you know what I think when I’ve used it for awhile. I’m thinking I may well spend the 30 bucks (which is not much at all!) to get the licensed version, but I want to be sure I’ll actually use it first.

I am also thinking about changing my working title from “A Plague of Faeries” to “Faerie Fever,” which doesn’t sound as sucky to me. I’m thinking Kelsey will be a faerie fan and have a lot of faerie figurines, etc., in no small part because they symbolize hope and beauty to her in the face of her battle with her disease. Of course, like everything else, actual faeries will turn out to be far different than she expects.

4 responses to “Writing Rocks…

  1. Scrivener is one of the things that convinced me to try a Mac. (And I haven’t regretted the decision.)
    I’m glad you found a PC-friendly solution, though 😀 Let us know how it works out for you!

    • Me, too! I’ll let you know what I think.
      I haven’t used Macs since 1995-1997, when I was at my first college. Had to use Macs in the language lab where I was a Spanish assistant. Now, my preferred place to hang out was in the PC lab in the computer building because that’s where we geeks went to play MUDS and such. *grin*

    • Me, too! I’ll let you know what I think.
      I haven’t used Macs since 1995-1997, when I was at my first college. Had to use Macs in the language lab where I was a Spanish assistant. Now, my preferred place to hang out was in the PC lab in the computer building because that’s where we geeks went to play MUDS and such. *grin*

  2. Scrivener is one of the things that convinced me to try a Mac. (And I haven’t regretted the decision.)
    I’m glad you found a PC-friendly solution, though 😀 Let us know how it works out for you!