The Beginning of the End…

For Red Hot Fury, that is. I trooped off to Steak n Shake with my husband’s laptop and his backup battery and got in about 3 hours of writing (minus eating time) and nearly 4k words. Woot! This on top of the lots of words of plotting I got in last night and today. I am planning to whip out some more words shortly, but I don’t have a particular goal in mind. Just however much I feel like writing.

The plot is thickening, the shit is hitting the fan, and the conflict is flying. I am having fun mixing in science and genetic manipulation with magic. It’s fun!!! I mean, what’s not to love about Sidhe clones??? Exactly!

Oh, and I finished the book I was reading and, fortunately, I loved the last third of it as much as the first two. It is now officially my favorite new urban fantasy and I can’t wait to read the next book!!! What is this awesome book, and who is the fantastic new author? Why, LJ’s own loverly , AKA Jeaniene Frost, author of the fantabulous Halfway to the Grave! I don’t really write reviews for the most part, so I will just say that I adored Jeaniene’s sassy but believable voice, loved her characters (BEST vampire hero EVAH), thoroughly enjoyed her take on vampires, and was completely caught up in her plot. I am totally grateful to her uber agent for putting her through the wringer with revisions simply because I loved the end product SO MUCH! I really can’t think of anything I didn’t like about this book. I may have had one or two very minor quibbles when I was reading, but got so caught up in the characters and story that I forgot them soon after. And that, for me, is the mark of an awesome book. So…er…I guess that’s enough raving for now. Loved it!

Um, so, updated word count for my own little WIP…

Red Hot Fury:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
52,172 / 80,000
(65.2%)

Speaking of uber agent, still no word, but I’m trying very hard to be zen about it. And now, back to tapping away at Red Hot Fury…

8 responses to “The Beginning of the End…

  1. Wow! Nice work!
    I’m trying to get some done tonight, but I’m on the couch while the boy plays video games, and it’s not the most productive place. Haha. But I want to spend some time with him.

  2. Wow! Nice work!
    I’m trying to get some done tonight, but I’m on the couch while the boy plays video games, and it’s not the most productive place. Haha. But I want to spend some time with him.

  3. Aw, thanks! Of course my book can never live up to such a glowing review, lol, so look forward to angry mutterings from your LJ friends in the near future 😉
    Congrats on your rocking word count. I envy you.

    • Oh, I doubt that. I have good taste in books. 😉
      And now I am reading the latest book from my favorite “established” urban fantasy series with a female lead: Kim Harrison’s For a Few Demons More. I just love Rachel! =)
      And I wish I got that rocking of a word count all the time. LOL.

    • Oh, I doubt that. I have good taste in books. 😉
      And now I am reading the latest book from my favorite “established” urban fantasy series with a female lead: Kim Harrison’s For a Few Demons More. I just love Rachel! =)
      And I wish I got that rocking of a word count all the time. LOL.

  4. Aw, thanks! Of course my book can never live up to such a glowing review, lol, so look forward to angry mutterings from your LJ friends in the near future 😉
    Congrats on your rocking word count. I envy you.