Amazing The Perspective A Couple Years Brings…

So I’ve been tweaking/polishing Vessel of Dreams today, working toward making it YA rather than adult UF. And I’ve managed to cut 30k words out. Wow. And that wasn’t hard at all, so I may very well get another 10k or so off there easily enough. There’s still more to do to make it YAish, and I’m gonna have to do another read-through to make sure I haven’t gotten rid of IMPORTANT stuff without working it in elsewhere. Overall, I am pleased. I definitely think this particular work suits the YA genre better than adult. Upper YA, to be sure, as it is dark and the main characters are older. The female MC is 18, nearly 19, and the secondary characters who are her friends range from 20 to 26ish. May end up having to tweak them younger at some point. Guess we’ll see!

Worse comes to worst, I figure I can keep them their current ages (I already bumped the heroine from almost 21 to almost 19. Either age works based on the numbers being sacred to the ancient Celts.) and if an agent and/or editor wants I can easily make them still younger.

Well, off to sleep since I’m still not feeling 100%.

One response to “Amazing The Perspective A Couple Years Brings…