Ugh…

It’s been a very long afternoon/evening. My grandfather went in for what they thought would be a routine heart bypass surgery, but it took a turn for the worse when the surgeon discovered a piece of his aorta was diseased, containing a lot of plaque and “stuff,” as he put it. He feared that if he took the clamp off, the stuff in that part of the aorta would gush upstream, go to my grandfather’s brain, and cause a stroke. So, instead, he decided to remove that portion of the aorta entirely. I was planning to go in after work just to support my grandmother, but the uncle I’m closest to called me, very upset and worried, and said everyone was gathering there because the surgeons couldn’t guarantee he was going to make it. So of course I left work immediately to go be at the hospital. Long story short, he’s in the ICU now, and probably won’t wake up for a day or two. And, since his bypass turned into an aortic operation, he will be in for a longer recovery. This all assuming further complications don’t develop. We’re really praying he doesn’t develop any bleeding tonight and have to be opened up again…If you are a spiritual or religious person, please pray or send positive vibes our way…

Fortunately, I spent a large chunk of my lunch “interviewing” the heroine of the latest WIP. I REALLY like this character. I think she’s definitely the most complex, flawed yet likable, REAL character I’ve created to date. I’m looking forward to telling her story. More of the plot and little details are coming to me. I love feeling this way again. Here’s hoping it lasts!

One response to “Ugh…