The Mind, It Plays Tricks on You…

So I get an email from BookEnds (a literary agency) in response to my query last week, and my mind immediately assumes the worst. What IT read: Thank you so much for giving me the chance to review your work. The material sounds intriguing but unfortunately it’s not for us. What the email ACTUALLY said: Thank you so much for giving me the chance to review your work. The material sounds intriguing and we would be interested in seeing more. I actually had to read it twice to realize it was a partial request and not an outright rejection. Hee!

Silly minds. They try to pull fast ones on us…

In other writing news, nothing accomplished thanks to my neverending Master’s paper. I will be SOOOO glad when this is finished!

14 responses to “The Mind, It Plays Tricks on You…

    • Thank you!
      Ew. Coffee. Hee. Dr. Pepper, now, is a different story.
      I think it’s just the fact that after you get a few “Sorry, not for us” rejections that your mind starts filling in the blank automatically, especially since she started out with “Thank you for…” which is how most agents’ stock rejections start out, too!

    • Thank you! I’m trying not to get my hopes up, just pleased that the query garnered another request.
      Heh. I wrote like 250ish words in the new project and that’s it. Though I HAVE gotten world-building and plotting done.