Poke Poke Poke…

Poked last night at my latest re-read of the WIP I’m querying for typos and just general prose clean-up, then poked at world-building and map-making for the epicish fantasy that’s been waiting patiently for its turn at bat. I am thinking I may alternate working on WAFT’s sequel with the epic fantasy because I don’t want to fall into the trap of only having two related books to shop around. I’d love to get the epic fantasy shaped up so that I have that to offer in addition to WAFT and, if I ever get around to fully revising it, Vessel of Dreams (the prior witch-related urban fantasy that still needs work). There’s also another prior fantasy WIP I may take a stab at re-working and running with someday as it has a most fascinating (I think) magic system, but I only have about 10k words on that one so I won’t to focus on other things first.

Speaking of the epicish fantasy, its working title right now is “Golden Silence” which refers to one of the two main characters. By day she’s the illegitimate sister of her nation’s Queen and the Queen’s Chief Diplomat. By night she’s the mysterious assassin known as the Queen’s Silence, slipping past the defenses of high-ranking enemies of the Queen to…you guessed it…silence them permanently. (It’s not quite as cutthroat as it seems–the enemies of the Queen are unhappy that a woman is serving as Regent over the young Prince since it’s a very patriarchal society and are plotting to assassinate her so they deserve it.) When Zebette, Chief Diplomat, heads to their neighboring (and enemy) nation to begin talks of a future alliance between the Queen’s son and the daughter of the second (extremely matriarchal) nation’s King, she is framed for the murder of a high-ranking official _there_ and her identity as the Queen’s Silence is revealed. Now, the only one who can help prove her innocence and stop all-out war is a former slave turned Priestess whose powerful magical abilities make her perfect for investigating controversial crimes. Of course, her not-so-discreet affair with the King has earned enemies of her own, and a secret society moving among the priesthood of both nations will stop at nothing to prevent the uniting of the Two Nations that Once Were One. Even if that means murdering both Lady Justice and Queen’s Silence to do so.

Whew. Sorry if that got long-winded…It actually helped me to sit down and sum up the plot myself. The culture of both nations are based on Ancient Egypt, as are the gods/goddesses and magic system. I’m actually looking forward to starting on this project which is one reason I may alternate between the two works. Plus I’ve never tried that method so I just want to see how it works for me. Once I get farther into them both I’ll decide which one I actually want to focus on.

2 responses to “Poke Poke Poke…