Gossamer Flying…

My chief beta reader (who is also the chief man in my life =) absolutely loved Where Angels Fear to Tread. I take this as the highest of compliments because he has excellent taste in what does and doesn’t work, and he doesn’t let the fact we’re married affect his opinions at all. Shoot, sometimes he’s downright brutal! In a nice, honest way, but it sometimes FEELS brutal to me! Take my last book, another urban fantasy, for instance. He had a rather large list of nitpicks on that one as well as a few plot holes. So I was shocked when he had only ONE nitpick with WAFT, and a minor one at that. Shocked but quite pleased!

He also began immediately prodding me about writing the next one. He’s that eager to read what happens next, and learn more about the cast of characters and their pasts. My original plan was to work on an epicish fantasy based on Ancient Egyptian culture, but I’ve let him talk me into working on WAFT’s sequel next. (They will both be able to stand alone, but tied together by the characters and world.) I spent a couple hours last night researching and I have the bare bones for its plot, as well as a working title.

The gist of the plot revolves around the Druid Grove in St. Louis (which was mentioned a couple times in WAFT but never appeared on-screen) and a slew of mysterious deaths in Forest Park, where the Grove is located. Turns out a drought has struck the metaphysical portions of the Grove and is now having an impact on the physical world. The only clue tying the two together is the strands of spidersilk found near each body as well as deep in the Grove itself. Gossamer flying…

One response to “Gossamer Flying…