It’s…

a boy! We had our “big” ultrasound yesterday where they took a bunch of measurements for the doctor and then let us watch our baby for a few minutes. We’re dealing with our initial disappointment that it’s not a girl (since that’s what we were hoping for) just fine. The important thing is that everything looks normal so far and the baby seems healthy at this point. From what you can tell through an ultrasound, of course. So now we can stop calling the baby “it” and start calling him by name–Zackary Shawn.

It’s such an awesome experience to see the baby in your womb. The little guy had his legs crossed at the ankle at first, wiggled around a bit, and had his arms over his face towards the end. He didn’t cooperate enough to move enough that the ultrasound tech could get a good picture of his spine so we may have to go back for another one soon. She printed out 6 pics for us, and my favorite is one of the baby’s profile from the side. He looks so darned cute to me! There’s one of the baby’s face from above, but it looks so skeletal he seems almost like a little alien.

Okay, enough gushing about our little one. I had a 10 hour drive over the weekend and class two nights in a row after working full-time, so last night I spent recuperating. I napped from 4 to 7 and just vegged for awhile before going back to bed. Hopefully tonight I’ll be more energetic as I want to finish WAFT in the next few days. I could conceivably start querying as soon as Monday, but we’ll see how it goes!

2 responses to “It’s…

  1. {hugs} Congratulations! I know about the shock of boy when you’re expecting a girl. (Everyone was so *sure* I would have a girl, that they were buying girl everything (wall paper, bedding, clothes). I had to put my foot down and say, “it might be a boy”, and the ultrasound proved me right, but I still needed a little re-adjustment time.)