I Read Way Too Fast…

So I finished Holly Lisle’s Last Girl Dancing in less than a day, and ditto for Wen Spencer’s A Brother’s Price. Really enjoyed LGD and absolutely LOVED ABP. I always adore reading new and interesting twists as far as societies go, and enjoy well-done takes on matriarchal societies. Both books were quite enjoyable, and I only regret that I read way too fast! I’m now about 150 pages into Jim Butcher’s Furies of Calderon. Snagged it in paperback when I got the other books. After that is Elizabeth Bear’s Scardown. At this rate I’ll soon run out of things to read!

Felt like crap yesterday thanks to not getting much sleep Tuesday night, oh yeah and that whole being pregnant thing. Needless to say I vegged on the couch and didn’t get any writing done. I also went to bed about 8:30 which was really good for my body. Planning to hopefully make up for this with lots of words this weekend, but we’ll see how things go. I’m honestly still recuperating from the 2.5 weeks living out of the hospital waiting rooms!

My brother continues to do well, although is still confused off and on. We also have a whole bunch of legal issues and financial matters to deal with for him…The fact that he doesn’t have insurance is a big owie. We’re hoping to get him on Social Security disability and, more importantly, Medicaid, but the complicated issue is that he now lives in Virginia but we need to bring him back home to Missouri since all his family that can take care of him lives here. My aunt is an RN and she has some social worker friends so hopefully we can get everything squared away. Don’t get me wrong–I’m exceedingly grateful he’s doing so well! This is just a lot of stress for me to deal with when pregnant…but we’re pulling together as a family and coping.

Nothing’s more important to me than family and friends. Nothing. Not even getting published. =)

One response to “I Read Way Too Fast…

  1. I don’t know if this helps or not, but some inside about Medicaid just in case…
    I was in college, living in the dorms, and didn’t have a job and no insurance. Got into a car accident, broke my back in 5 places. Medicaid covered me for medical expense cuz i wasn’t living with my parents and had no income. Course… your brother probably had some income, huh?
    FYI: Our insurance company gave us $15K for uninsured motorist… and Medicaid promised they wouldn’t take any of it. But we didn’t get anything in writing. After spending most of it (my mom bought all new furniture, long story *sigh*), Medicaid came back and took 9K.
    Like I said, I don’t know if any of this applies to your case, but it doesn’t hurt to be informed, right?
    Good luck and all the best!