Shitty, Shitty, Shitty Week…

(Finally got Internet access for a bit from out of state…)

This week has been absolutely shitty, for one major, horrible reason. My brother, who the family hadn’t heard from in two years, was in an awful accident almost a week ago. He fell off a balcony after the railing gave way, falling 14 feet headfirst and landing on a patch of concrete. His ex-wife managed to get ahold of my uncle who informed my mother and me, and I immediately bought plane tickets to Virginia for my mother, sister, and myself. We were told that he was in critical condition and had been through brain surgery and probably wouldn’t make it. (Well, my aunt told ME that last bit, but not my mother. She knew that Mom would need me and that I would be strong for her.) The trip here was nightmarish. The soonest I could get us a flight was 2:35 p.m. and there were no direct flights to Norfolk, so we had to fly first to Atlanta. Of COURSE we had a weather delay on BOTH ends of the Atlanta leg, which meant we got in two hours later than we should have. By this time my mother was pretty panicky, and she also had a very bad reaction to both landings. I thought she was going to pass out, she had such a bad stabbing pain in her head. I think she must have an inner ear thing or something. At any rate, we FINALLY made it and got to see Chris, but damn was it tough…

It’s an absolute MIRACLE that he survived. Seeing him on the ventilator and with all the tubes in him and as banged up as he was…Very difficult. Right now we’re playing a waiting game. He definitely suffered some brain damage, but nobody can tell us how severe it will be or how much he will recover. The past few days the swelling on his brain was holding steady, but it’s gone up a bit lately. They had to remove a big chunk of his skull on the left side to allow relief for the pressure, but the neurosurgeon told my mom today that the swelling could conceivably go on for 5 to 6 weeks–which was very scary! We thought that since he made it through the first 6 days so well that he was out of the woods at least as far as the brain swelling goes. No such luck. We’re just gonna hope and pray that he makes it through this as well as he’s made it through everything else. He has youth on his side–he’s only 25. Of course, that only makes all this harder. My mother lost our father when he was only 22…he died in a car accident when I was just over 2 and she was pregnant with Chris. And Chris is now the spitting image of Daddy…the older he gets the more he looks like him! Now we’re terrified we’re going to lose him at such a tragically young age…And even if he survives we’re not guaranteed to get our “boy” back…

Then add in the fact he has no insurance–he got discharged from the Navy two years ago–and he has a couple other issues needing to be taken care of. This is all a very, very tragic situation. The worst part is my mom and I feared this would happen–that we wouldn’t track Chris down again till someone in the family died–or he got seriously injured or killed himself. The only solace I can draw is knowing that he had recently started searching for us to get back in contact with us…And that I got here in time to spend time with him, and tell him that he’s going to be an uncle in 6 months–if only he can hold on and fight through. Despite my fear of the brain swelling, for some reason I have this sense that he IS going to make it through this, and that he will surprise everyone…He’s always been such a fighter, and so stubborn…As stubborn as our mother…All we can do now is wait…and pray.

Please, if you pray, say one for my brother. He can use all that he can get…

6 responses to “Shitty, Shitty, Shitty Week…

  1. What a terrible situation for everyone… My best wishes and sympathy for you and the rest of your family, and I hope that this all eventually works out for the best…