Cautious But Hopeful…

I’m still around and puttering with the book off and on. I haven’t written much the past few days, though, thanks to a baby scare. I had my first ultrasound last Friday and at first all appeared perfectly normal. The baby is where it should be and has a strong heartbeat. Hearing the heartbeat was a really wonderful moment! For the next few days I felt more peaceful than I had in awhile (it’s just so easy to feel paranoid about every little thing when you’re pregnant!). Then my doctor’s office called me on Monday evening and told me that I had some blood pooled on my placenta, and advised me not to engage in any strenuous exercise, heavy lifting, or intercourse. They also said I should keep my feet up when possible. Finally, they said that the blood “should” be reabsorbed back into the placenta but that I should come in for some blood work to get my progesterone level checked.

Needless to say I was a basketcase that night and the next day! I took a personal day from work on Tuesday to get the bloodwork done and stayed off my feet the rest of the day. I came back to work yesterday (Wednesday) and took it as easy as possible. The doctor’s office finally called me late afternoon to tell me that my progesterone level came back good, 21.5. I asked them a few questions about it and now feel a lot better about everything. I know that, typically, when you’re going to have a miscarriage your progesterone levels often start dropping. I don’t feel like I’m completely out of the woods yet–I will be taking it easy and avoiding what they said to avoid–but hopefully everything will check out fine at my next doctor’s appointment on the 22nd.

I have class tonight so obviously won’t get much (if any) writing done today, but hopefully I’ll get some managed over the weekend. Assuming that all remains well with baby!

3 responses to “Cautious But Hopeful…

  1. Scary!
    I’m glad to hear all is well and I hope everything from here out is smooth sailing. (Of course, if it isn’t, they say tough pregnancies make for delightful children 🙂

      • Re: Scary!
        Personally, I’m of the opinion that our own children are delightful, no matter how the pregnancy goes, bu it’s nice to know that there’s light at the end of the tunnel 🙂