Christmas Recap…

I enjoyed a very good Christmas full of friends, family, and blessings. I think I already mentioned that my favorite gift is the laptop my husband got me. I have been lusting after laptops for a long time now, and I really think it’s going to help with my writing. Between the excitement over the new laptop and the excitement for the new book I have gotten quite a bit done in the past few days. I whipped out the opening scene of PS (Psychic Storm, the tentative title for the urban fantasy atm) and damned if I don’t think it’s the best opening scene I’ve ever done. Kinda impressed myself, really, since I usually don’t write in the first person POV. It gives me high hopes for this one, it really does. I also got quite a lot of world-building done, which is good.

Still not bumming about my Luna rejection, which is good. Like I said before, I do think it was at the tail end of my million words of crap. Now that it’s out of my system I have much higher hopes for my next project. I am just so happy to have my first completed adult novel and first novel rejection under my belt. It makes me feel much more “official” as a writer! It’s only onward and upward from here, folks! =)

Husband and I made it to the gym again this morning. We’re aiming right now for two mornings a week and 1-2 times over the weekend until we get back into it. Then we may switch to 3 mornings a week to see how it goes. Who knows, maybe someday we’ll get there 5 mornings a week. I’m not holding my breath though! =)

Oh, I forgot to mention all the other gifts I got. Shawn bought me seasons 3 through 6 of Stargate SG-1. It was amusing after the first 2 seasons I opened. My brother, sister, and I were like, “Ohmigod, I bet it’s season 4!” “Could it possibly be season 5?” *giggle* Looking forward to it, though he and I still have to finish season 1 and 2 first! I got two lovely butterfly necklaces, a beautiful butterfly journal with a quote from Shakespeare inside it, a pretty butterfly candle topper (yes, I’m into butterflies ;), a butterfly photo album (which my friend Julie then informed me I have to fill with pictures of her godbaby once we have him or her and give it back to her–yeah right like she’s getting it back!), a CD of scrapbooking software, a pair of ug slippers (which are soooo comfy! Even if I did make fun of the pair my sister had on before I opened mine–oops!), a gorgeous winter-themed fairy figurine (I’m also into fairies), a purse with my new last initial on it, and of course my laptop. I’m prolly forgetting something, but that’s what I can think of offhand. Shawn and I also got a joint gift certificate for dinner at O’Charley’s, which we used last night, and checks from his parents and grandparents. So a very nice Christmas indeed!

Comments are closed.