Working for a Living…

kinda sucks. Don’t get me wrong, I’m exceedingly grateful to have such a great job and work with and for such great people. But I’m so tired right now it’s easy to forget that. We were absolutely _swamped_ yesterday, so I ended up working late a few hours. Normally that wouldn’t be so bad, but seeing as how I have had such trouble sleeping lately I was pretty damned tired by the time I got home. I was so afraid I might have trouble sleeping again (because the trouble sleeping does not mean I’m not tired as hell–just that I _can’t_ sleep) that hubby and I stopped at Walgreen’s to get an over-the-counter sleeping aid. It took awhile to kick in, but I suppose it worked cause it didn’t take me hours upon hours to fall asleep. Although this morning I find that I feel really groggy and not particularly well-rested, so I have mixed feelings about the success of the experiment.

Annnnnnywho, needless to say I didn’t get any writing done last night. However, I have high hopes for tonight. Although I’m a bit bummed since the new game we’re going to play comes out tonight and I won’t get to play it with hubby and friends till tomorrow. They get a one-day headstart on me!!! Ah well, I’ll survive. The writing definitely means more to me than any game. Even if it is World of Warcraft and tons of fun!

Okay, need to get back to work. And try to stay awake. And not be mean to everyone around me cause I’m so tired!

3 responses to “Working for a Living…

  1. Kait– with those sleep things you have to take them way before you want to get to sleep, and you have to be sure to get at least 8 hours of sleep or else you get that icky groggy thing in the morning. Also, if you take them for any length of time and then stop taking them, you usually have insomnia for awhile again before your body gets back to the usual sleeping. It’s almost not worth it to take those blasted things, IMHO. For me it makes the insomnia last longer.
    I hope you get back to sleeping soon!

    • Aha! So you proved my tentative theory right. I was commenting to the gals at work earlier that I was going to try and take it several hours earlier than bedtime instead of just an hour earlier like I did last night and see how that worked for me. I am fortunate that I usually sleep well, but I do get occasional bouts of insomnia that just knock me for a loop. Since I’m trying to pick up overtime this week I wanted to see if the pills helped just for a bit–I will definitely not take them long. Thanks for giving me the info–I will make sure not to take them for long because I don’t want to have those sorts of issues.

  2. Kai, the over the counter sleep aids do tend to leave one feeling incredibly groggy the next day. I can’t take them, really. Try a couple of Tylenol PM. They have a lower dosage of the sleep aid, so you drop off well, but they don’t keep you from waking if you need to, and you don’t feel groggy in the morning. Just don’t take more than the recommended dosage, as they’ve got Tylenol in them and too much at once can damage your liver.
    Ep