Post Crankyberry…

All right, I’m over my cranberry-induced crankiness now. I have managed to remind myself that every day I wake up is a good one. This grateful mood comes courtesy of the fact that my firm has been touched by a deadly disease twice in the past few days. One of my coworkers lost her sister to ovarian cancer, the “silent killer.” And another coworker is not expected to survive her own battle with ovarian cancer much longer. This is especially sad considering we lost yet another coworker to lung cancer a few months ago.

Needless to say, being touched by death has a nice habit of putting things in perspective. I should be grateful that my little medical malady is so easily remedied. I should also be grateful that I married my best friend and get to spend so much time with him. I should be grateful that he and I have all the basic necessities of life as well as a few luxuries rather than focusing on what we _don’t_ have. So, for today at least, I will work on being grateful just to be alive.

But cranberry juice still sucks!

***

I managed a paltry 1,000 words on The Vessel last night. I use the word paltry only because I could and should have written a lot more. I allowed myself to be distracted by the Internet too much last night rather than working to my full potential. Considering that I really, really want to finish this book before Friday so that I can set it aside for a week or so while starting my new project for a writing challenge at Forward Motion, I need to focus tonight and get the book done. I can deal with all the issues my Internal Editor is throwing in my face later. For now, I just need to get the job done!

Comments are closed.